Resources

Alliance of Independent Authors (ALLi): https://www.allianceindependentauthors.org/ (Resources, news and solidarity for self-publishing authors.)

The British Museum: http://www.britishmuseum.org/ (An outstanding cultural resource. The ‘Research’ page on the website allows users to quest after knowledge and inspiration by searching the collection catalogue.)

The Chicago Manual of Style Online: http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html (A subscription is required to access the texts of the 15th and 16th editions—a 17th edition is scheduled for release in September 2017—but a wonderfully informative Q&A section is open to all interested in matters of style.)

Copac: http://copac.jisc.ac.uk/ (Access the library catalogues of most UK and Irish universities.)

The Creative Penn: http://www.thecreativepenn.com/ (Lots of resources and inspiration from Joanna Penn, a best-selling self-published author and a wise, effervescent and positive speaker.)

Find a Proofreader: http://findaproofreader.com/ (A listing of proofreaders and editors, as well as other publishing professionals, with customer reviews.)

Grammarist: http://grammarist.com/ (Everyone should be interested in grammar, so everyone should be interested in this site.)

Louise Harnby—Proofreader: http://www.louiseharnbyproofreader.com/ (The website of an experienced proofreader and copy-editor, with outstanding resources and a brilliant blog.)

Oxford Dictionaries: https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/ (‘powered by Oxford’)

Society for Editors and Proofreaders (SfEP): https://www.sfep.org.uk/ (The UK’s leading professional organization for editors and proofreaders; as well as an annual conference, a member’s forum, a directory and many opportunities to network, the SfEP offers a full programme of courses and training workshops.)

Society of Young Publishers (SYP): https://thesyp.org.uk/ (Resources, social events and networking opportunities for those working in publishing; it’s no longer necessary to be young to join!)

Urban Dictionary: http://www.urbandictionary.com/ (Ragged around the edges for sure, but it remains an invaluable source for understanding street slang, hip hop lyrics and much of the language of young people.)

Other

Beach House: http://www.beachhousebaltimore.com/ (A Baltimore band making some of the most interesting and beautiful music around.)

Dirty Blondes: https://www.facebook.com/WeAreDirtyBlondes/ (A young Camden band who write their own songs and are genuinely good. Declaration of interest: my daughter is their guitarist.)

Bob Dylan: https://www.bobdylan.com/ (My writing often ends up referring to him.)

Green Party: https://www.greenparty.org.uk/ (I’m not a member, but I like them.)

The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/uk (Frequently annoying, The Guardian nevertheless remains a source of accurate reporting with a social conscience.)

Kevin Jackson: http://www.kevinjackson.net/ (A friend, and a fine artist and printmaker.)

London Review of Books: https://www.lrb.co.uk/ (The best literary magazine in the world, the LRB website contains many examples of the intelligent, insightful, provocative and stylish writing that graces its pages; better still, become a subscriber. And no, I do not work for the LRB, but I’ve twice applied for jobs there: on the first occasion I experienced withering disdain over the phone, and on both occasions my application wasn’t even acknowledged. The magazine is too good for me not to forgive them.)

Open Britain: http://www.open-britain.co.uk/ (The alternative hardly bears thinking about.)

Open Rights Group: https://www.openrightsgroup.org/ (Campaigning against censorship and for individual rights in the digital age.)

Sonic Youth: http://www.sonicyouth.com/ (‘The world’s greatest rock band.’ Discuss.)

Times Higher Education: https://www.timeshighereducation.com/ (News, commentary and analysis of the ever more beleaguered world of UK higher education.)

Tindersticks: https://www.tindersticks.co.uk/ (Moving, melancholy and often funny music; whisky in a smoky late-night bar goes with some songs, traditional beer in a seen-better-days pub goes with others.)

West Ham United: https://www.whufc.com/ (A famous, stylish and increasingly hard-to-like football team in east London. I support them.)